Lexington County School District One announces its Top 10 Teacher of the Year finalists for 2021–22. These finalists go on to compete for District Teacher of the Year. On Dec. 15 and 16, Superintendent Dr. Gregory Little surprised each of the Top 10 at their schools to share the exciting news.

This year’s honorees include Gilbert Elementary Fourth Grade Immersion Teacher Deanne A. Ricard, Lake Murray Elementary Kindergarten Teacher Stephanie B. Ricard, Lexington Elementary Third Grade Teacher Spring B. Bridgers, Lexington Middle Special Education Teacher Sally M. Keiper, Lexington Technology Center STEM Teacher Patrick E. Martin, Midway Elementary First Grade Teacher Beth C. Sellars, New Providence Elementary Third Grade Teacher Laura M. Sundburg, Pleasant Hill Elementary Interventionist Sue H. Carter, River Bluff High English Teacher Apryl D. Henry and White Knoll Middle Interventionist Bria L. Martin.

As part of the selection process, all 31 school-level Teachers of the Year completed a written application form.

Since the district currently has 17 elementary schools, eight middle schools, five high schools and one technology center, three teams of elementary school-level judges, one team of middle school-level judges and one team of high school-level judges used an established rubric to read and score application forms.

The two school-level TOYs with the highest scores from each team became the top 10 finalists. There are six elementary school finalists, two middle school finalists and two high school finalists.

Judges will assess the 10 finalists again in three categories — paperwork, interview and classroom observation — to determine the District Teacher of the Year. The announcement of the district-level winner will take place March 31, 2022.

Leave a Reply